A Week in Review

Yesterday there should have been a post, but there wasn’t. I didn’t write anything up, because I haven’t actually played anything enough to give a proper opinion on it. In the space of a week, I’ve increased the amount of shooters I own by 400% – turns out I’m still terrible at them, but my friends play them and we can fail spectacularly together.

In particular, I’ve been playing Overwatch, Rainbow Six Siege and Battlefield 4 – I think you’ll probably hear about Siege first, it’s a surprisingly small game. Overwatch has provided some brilliant moments in its short time, but I keep smushing my face on the glass ceiling of progress.

In the last day Niantic have released a new update for their nostalgic hit, Pokemon Go. Amongst some of the updates is a change to the Pokemon tracker, which will be rolled out quietly to a few users to test. This is an exciting turn of events which hopefully means Niantic are listening to their players, even if they’re 3 weeks late to the party. I’ll readily admit that I haven’t fully committed to Pokemon Go in the last week and a lot of that is because of the problems with the tracker. Wandering the streets of Cheshire with my phone in the air, hoping for anything but a Weedle loses its fun after a while.

I’ve also found myself back on a private server in Minecraft, putting together a little village based on the Warcraft style. Minecraft is best for a chilled out evening, planning and building over hours while you watch some TV – about 4 hours later and my Town Hall is complete! It’s on to Inn now!

On the note of Warcraft, the pre-patch for Legion was applied a week ago which made a few changes in preparation for the latest expansion (which I’m very excited about). Class abilities and talents have been cut back and changed to give a proper sense of fantasy, so if you’ve not logged on yet, be prepared to relearn your class! There a lot more additions and changes, such as the revamped Professions and the new Transmog system. Today marks the start of Demon Invasions in Azeroth, which players can reopen to earn rewards prior to the release of Legion. Wowhead has some guides for what’s happening and what you will need to do. There will be a Legion post at the beginning of next month, I’ve prepared myself with a week off and the Collectors Edition!

I’m sorry there isn’t a proper post this week, I’ll have something substantial ready for next week – here’s hoping for a more active week in between!

Leave a Reply

